It is a modern myth that a parent who has sole legal and physical custody of a child has all parental rights and the “noncustodial” parent has no parental rights. Wrong answer. For Utah policy on parent-time, see http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE30/htm/30_03_003200.htm.

Under Utah law, the minimum “parent-time” (no longer called visitation, because a noncustodial parent doesn’t just visit their child/ren, but parents them during the time they spend with the noncustodial parent), provides (generally) for the noncustodial parent-time to be every other weekend, every other holiday, 1/2 the winter vacationbreak and 4 weeks in the summer.

In Utah, for children 5 and older, see http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE30/htm/30_03_003500.htm.

In Utah, for children younger than 5, see http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE30/htm/30_03_003505.htm. In Utah, for parents who live further than moving 150 miles or more from the residence specified in the Utah court’s decree, see http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE30/htm/30_03_003700.htm.

For Utah advisory guidelines suggested to govern all parent-time arrangements between parents (which are often adopted as the law of the case in divorce decrees and are no longer “advisory” but required), see http://le.utah.gov/~code/TITLE30/htm/30_03_003300.htm.

“When parent-time has not taken place for an extended period of time and the child lacks an appropriate bond with the noncustodial parent,” there may be a basis in the law for a gradual reintroduction rather than just jumping into a normal parent-time visitation schedule. How to proceed in these situations would best be determined by counseling with a lawyer experienced in these kinds of family law matters.

¿Necesita ayuda?

Complete la información a continuación y nos comunicaremos con usted para programar una consulta gratuita.

Contact Us

Got Estate Planning Concerns?

 We Can Help.

Helping Families Face Family Law Matters Throughout All Of Utah

Waldron Law Group

Making Payments is Easy!

Select your payment type:

Scroll to Top