Giving up parental rights for adoption in Utah

Giving up parental rights for adoption in Utah

adoption lawyer

I recently received the following request for information fromk a potential client: In the State of Utah, how long do the birth parents have before terminating their parental right after the birth of the child?  In other words, how long after the birth of a child can the biological parents voluntarily relinquish their newborn child?  My answer is – –

In Utah, a birth mother can voluntarily give up her parental rights after 24 hours after birth or 24 hours after the birth mother is no longer under the influence of any medication that would inhibit her ability to understand and voluntarily relinquish her parental rights.

The biological father would have the same time frames, etc., except an unmarried biological father need not consent to relinquishment if he has not preserved his parental rights by filing the appropriate declaration of paternity with the Utah Department of Vital Statistics or initiated and served the mother with a paternity action.

I hope this information is helpful.  Please comment, add, refute, clarify or inquire regarding this posting if you are so inclined.  I would love for this to convert to a helpful dialogue and resource.

Helping Families Face Family Law Matters Throughout All Of Utah

Waldron Law Group

Making Payments is Easy!

Select your payment type:

Contact Us

Scroll to Top